Tuesday, January 31, 2017

Cape Cod Baseball League Opens its 132nd Season on June 14, 2017

The CCBL which began in 1885 will feature a 44 game 2017 season with play by its ten teams grouped into two divisions: the East Division featuring the Harwich Mariners, Yarmouth-Dennis Red Sox, Chatham Anglers, Orleans Firebirds and Brewster Whitecaps; and the West Division featuring the Bourne Braves, Falmouth Commodores, Wareham Gatemen, Hyannis Harbor Hawks and Cotuit Kettleers.

This blog looks forward to following regular season series play with an eye to spotting series sweeps. Each team will play six times in their own division and four times with teams in the other division.

We will pay particular attention to the playoffs in August consisting of winning 3 of 5 games in a quarterfinal, semifinal and final series format.

Pressure will be on the Yarmouth-Dennis Red Sox to see if they can continue on their streak of three consecutive CCBL Championships including a 2014 series sweep of the Falmouth Commodores.

Let the games begin!

He's Baaaaaaaaack!

Sports fans know the Super Bowl's arrival means Spring is not far off and more importantly Baseball Spring Training will start soon.  I am approaching this new season with fresh enthusiasm having retired from my 9 to 5 gig leaving me plenty of time to pursue Series Sweep baseball stats, history and trivia.

As a Cape Cod resident with easy access to ten nearby Cape Cod Baseball League ball fields, I plan on completing a historical survey of all CCBL series sweeps during its seasons and playoff competitions.
(image courtesy of codball.com)

I hope to coordinate with the league, sports writers, CCBL bloggers and fans to create a series sweep database to include: winning team, losing team, number of games in the series, game scores and wrap-ups.